Background Image
Previous Page  13 / 32 Next Page
Show Menu
Previous Page 13 / 32 Next Page
Page Background


June 2017

| VOICES Bi-Monthly Magazine of the University of Technology, Jamaica


Tech, Ja. Helpers is a group of 21 University of Technology, Jamaica

students from various colleges and faculties who are doing the

Management of Meetings and Events University elective for Semester

2, Academic Year 2016-17.

Facilitated by their lecturer, Mrs. Diana Shakes, School of Business

Administration, each class takes the form of weekly meetings that bring

together a group of highly-motivated students eager to explore and

investigate field related topics.

The course equips students with the knowledge and skills of event planning

and meeting management through various modalities such as learning

activities, group discussions, presentations, simulation and applied problem


The UTech, Ja Helpers student group chose the Marie Atkins Night Shelter

located at 65 Hanover Street, downtown Kingston for their Management of

Meeting and Events final project.

At the invitation of the President, the following persons have been appointed as members of the University’s Procurement Committee. Their tenure will be

for two years with effect from June 1, 2017.

Miss Danniell Brown (centre), 4


Year Bachelor of Arts in Communication Arts and

Technology (BCAT) student and President, UTech, Ja. Helpers, along with Minister

Kerrian Johnson of the Faith Worshipers Assembly of God and KJ Outreach

Deliverance Ministry in discussion with Smile Jamaica, TVJ host Miss Dahlia Harris

on Tuesday, April 11, 2017 during an interview on the programme.

UTech Jamaica in the Community

UTech, Ja. Helpers Student Group Hosts Charity Event for theMarieAtkins Night Shelter

New Procurement Committee

Cont’d on page 14

Mr Patrick Williams

Vice-Dean, FOSS (Chairman)

Miss Karlene Black

Vice-Dean, FENC (Deputy Chairman)

Mr Paul Brissett

Chief Business & Finance Officer

Dr Ruth Potopsingh

AVP, Sustainable Energy, CSEII

Mr Hector Wheeler

AVP, Advancement

Office of the President

Mrs Denise Stephenson Hammil

Senior Director, Planning &


Mrs Myrtle Weir

Lecturer, COBAM