Voices Magazine Vol2-Issue-6

VOICES Bi-Monthly Magazine of the University of Technology, Jamaica | February - March 2019 32 There are now nine national monuments located on the Papine Campus of the University of Technology, Jamaica. This follows the publication of the Declaration of seven (7) national monuments on February 28, 2019 by the Jamaica National Heritage Trust (JNHT). The seven buildings which have been given this status by the JNHT are the University Chapel, the Drawing Room, Bryan’s Book Store, the Victoria Mutual Facility, the Cynthia Shako Early Childhood Educational Centre, the Centre for the Arts, and the Students’ Activity Centre at the Barn. Under the JNHT Act, the Trust may declare a site to be a national monument if its preservation is a matter of public interest owing to its historic, architectural, traditional, artistic, aesthetic, scientific or architectural value. Much of the research to support the declaration of the buildings as national monuments was undertaken by the University’s Museum and Heritage Preservation Officer, Mrs Joan Francis. The other two monuments – the building now housing Lillian’s Restaurant and the three Ruins of the Silos were so declared in 2010. UTech, Jamaica now has 9 National Monuments following JNHT’s Declaration of 7 Additional National Monuments at the Papine Campus The Drawing Room Cynthia Shako Daycare Bryan’s Book Store Building VMBS Building The Centre for the Arts Student Activity Centre/The Barn The Chapel