Background Image
Previous Page  9 / 32 Next Page
Show Menu
Previous Page 9 / 32 Next Page
Page Background


February 2017

| VOICES Bi-Monthly Magazine of the University of Technology, Jamaica


he Council is the

supreme University

body and has

legal responsibility for all

University appointments

and promotions, resources

(financial, material and

physical) and for the

maintenance of standards

within the University.

Most Hon. Edward Seaga, ON, PC


Mr. Aldrick McNab, OD, JP

Prime Minister’s Nominee

Mr. Noel Whyte

Professional Bodies Nominee

Mrs. Joan Lawla

Academic Staff Nominee

President, UTASU

Mr. Ronald Sutherland

President, Alumni Association

Mr. Richard Powell


Mrs. Sharon Hay-Webster

Minister of Education’s Nominee

Mr. Philmore McCarthy

Association of Caribbean Tertiary

Associations (ACTI)

Mrs. Dennise Haldane

Administrative Staff Nominee

President, UTASSA

Mr. Alfred McPherson

Deans’ Representative

Prof. Stephen Vasciannie, CD


Mr. Garfield Higgins

Minister of Education’s Nominee

Mrs. Corrine Richards

Council of Community College of


Prof. Colin Gyles

Deputy President

Mrs. Scarlette Gillings, CD, JP

Chancellor’s Nominee

Mr. Dimitri McGregor

Students’ Union President

Mrs. Eleanor Jones

Co-opted Member

Hon. Shirley Tyndall, OJ, CD

Honorary Treasurer

Mr. Micheal McAnnuff-Jones

Private Sector Nominee

Mrs. Stancy Mighty-Dixon

Technical & Ancillary Nominee

Mr. Linval Freeman

Co-opted Member

The University Council