University Council

The Council is the supreme University body and has legal responsibility for all University appointments and promotions, resources (financial, material and physical) and for the maintenance of standards within the University.

The Chancellor is head of the University and chairs at least one meeting of Council annually. In the absence of the Chancellor, the Council is chaired by the Pro-Chancellor. The membership consists of representatives of a wide cross section of the Jamaican society including commerce and industry, the Alumni Association, local and regional educational institutions, staff unions and the Studentsí Union, professional societies and the Government. The Chancellor also has a representative on the Council. Much of the Councilís work is carried out by committees. The standing committees of the Council are Finance, Governance, Audit and the Student Appeal Board.



Most Hon. Edward Seaga, ON, PC

Vivian Crawford, OD

Prof. Collin Gyles
President (Acting)

Dr. Haldane Johnson
Deputy President (Acting)

Ronald Sutherland
President, Alumni Association

Darrian McGhann
President, UTech Students' Union

Dr. Franklin Johnston
Nominee of the Minister of Education

Carlton Williams
Nominee of the Minister of Education

Ryland Campbell
Private Sector Nominee

Dr. Warren Blake
Prime Minister's Nominee

Dennis Chung
Honorary Treasurer

The Most Hon. Errald Miller
Chancellor's Nominee

Dr. Shane Alexis
Professional Bodies Representative

Dr. Angela Samuels-Harris, OD
Association of Caribbean Tertiary Institution's Nominee

Stancy Mighty-Dixon
Technical & Ancillary Nominee

Joan Lawla
UTASU Nominee

Dennise Haldane
UTASA Nominee

Dr. Paul Golding
Professor's Associate Representative

Earl Samuels
Co-opted Member

Eleanor Jones
Co-opted Member